FREE POSTAGE for orders $80 & over. Low flat rate fee of $4.95 for orders under $80.

Meet the Makers - The sisters behind What Dolly Wore.

Hi there! 

We have been planning to introduce ourselves, and thought starting our blog would be a great opportunity to say hi .

I'm Belle. I'm the mother to Isla, my 18 month old daughter and two gorgeous step-sons aged 12 and 13 years. I live in the northern suburbs of Brisbane with my fiance, children and energetic Border Collie.

I absolutely love to crochet. I think what I love most is the creative outlet that it provides. As well as being a busy mum, my day job can at times be high stress and challenging. The ritual of pouring a glass of wine or a cup of tea, plonking myself in front of the t.v (almost always trashy, generally reality based) and having the yarn fly through my fingers as I flick my hook and create beautiful things calms me and fills my heart with joy.

I was taught to crochet by my grandmother when I was a young girl and was given a refresher lesson by my "work-wife" a couple of years ago who helped me with rediscover how to read patterns and showed me how to do some of the technically difficult stitches.

So that's a little bit about me, now for some fun. Let's play 2 truths and 1 lie!

See if you can figure out which one is the lie and I'll let you know in our next post.

  1. I spent a large portion of my childhood raised in a log cabin without electricity. We had a hopper to heat water and a generator at night whilst Mum cooked dinner.
  2. I have spent a month in an Indian ashram doing yoga teacher training. I am now a qualified yoga teacher but worked in this field.
  3. When I finished high school, I spent three months backpacking through Europe and lost my passport in Rome, two days before I was meant to fly home but after a lot of panic, trouble and money, I managed to make my flight.

Can you guess the lie??

 Belle

📸 - Susan Stafford Photography 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published